Skip to Main Content



About Us

Header image of library foyer

What We Offer

FAQs

What is in the collection and how can I access it? 

Search all of our collections in one place - Search@RIS.
We subscribe to 5,000+ full-text journals and 4,200 eBooks from world leading scientific publishers. We own subject collection backfiles for depth of coverage. Search@RIS will retrieve content from over 30 million articles from our subscribed databases, plus additional content from open access collections.

We hold extensive print journal and book collections, as well as copies of Departmental publications, on site at our EcoSciences Precinct and Health and Food Sciences Libraries, all searchable via Search@RIS.

How do I check if RIS has an article I'm looking for?

Enter the article title in the Search@RIS search box.
If full-text is available follow the link to the source. If full-text is not available please follow the request form links or submit a new request. 

What if RIS doesn't have what I need? 

We find and supply articles, books, and chapters via our library networks worldwide, at no cost to staff. We have a fantastic success rate and a quick turnaround. Visit the Article & Book Requests page and complete a short form to lodge your request.

Can you buy a book for me?

Yes. RIS coordinates purchasing of books and other resources for DPI staff. Submit a Publication Purchase Form and we will be in touch with pricing and purchase options.

 

Do I need to become a library member?

DPI RIS is funded by Agri-Science Queensland and Biosecurity Queensland to support its research activities. New staff in these business groups will be sent a Welcome Pack. There is no need to register or request access.  

How do I borrow from the DPI collection?

It’s best to first check Search@RIS to see if a digital version is available for you to download. If we don't have a digital version, submit an Article or Book Request. 

  • If the item is held, we’ll email or post the item to you (if you are local, you can drop in to pick it up).
  • Loans are annual unless you advise a shorter term is preferred. 
  • Print journals are lent for 4 weeks. 

We do not limit the number of loans but we do ask that you return unwanted items to make them available to others.

Can I get an item that is checked out to someone else?

Yes. If a book you need is marked as 'On Loan' in Search@RIS, please contact us. We will either come to an arrangement with the current borrower or source the book elsewhere for you. If you decide you'd rather purchase your own copy, submit a Publication Purchase Form.  

Can you buy a book for me?

Yes. RIS coordinates purchasing of books and other resources for DPI staff. Submit a Publication Purchase Form along with your cost collector.

 

Can I visit the library?

You can.  As well as our extensive electronic collections, we have two physical libraries in Brisbane: the EcoSciences Precinct Library and the Health and Food Sciences Library at Coopers Plains. 

Our main library location, staffed Monday-Friday, is the EcoSciences Precinct Library at Dutton Park.  Here, RIS collections and staff are co-located with the Department of Environment, Science & Innovation.

Our Coopers Plains location is also accessible Monday-Friday, however do contact us prior if you'd like to see a RIS staff member on site.

What goes on in the library?

The EcoSciences Precinct Library, our main library location, is where you will find the RIS team of librarians and the majority of our collections of printed books, scientific journals and Departmental publications.  You can browse our shelves, borrow a book, chat to RIS staff, access DPI WiFi, and plug your laptop into a DPI network connection. 

Using the ESP Library space for events

RIS hosts events in the ESP library throughout the year, including lectures, Library Week celebrations, displays and major research resource launches. These are advertised on the DPI email bulletin boards and in the bimonthly RIS newsletter.  

The library space can also be reserved for your own work-related events including lectures and meetings.  Come and chat to us to see what our space has to offer or to make a booking.

 

Do you offer library orientation for new staff?

We monitor staff appointments to email out a Welcome Kit, including an introduction to RIS library services and resources and links to relevant Subject Guides. You are welcome to contact us at any time to discuss your needs or request library training for yourself or your group.

Do you run library training sessions?

RIS recognises there is a lot of knowledge to absorb about our diverse products and services. That’s why we offer DPI staff with training that is tailored to suit your specific needs.

Popular topics include: RIS Overview; EndNote; using Scopus; using other scientific research databases; getting the most from Google Scholar; and power searching the library catalogue Search@RIS. All topics are tailored to your time availability and subject interest.

Training is delivered in person if applicable, or via MS Teams. We work with individuals and work groups, depending on your requirements. If we’re training a group, we’ll work with you prior to tailor a complete schedule that is specific to your needs. Contact RIS to find out more.

 

Direct Access WFH

While working from home using ITP Direct Access you will be able to access RIS online resources in the same way as if you are working in the office. Most DPI staff will only ever need to use Direct Access when away from the office. If you are off network, not on Direct Access or using a personal device, then you might like to use roaming access.

 

What is Roaming Access?

  • Roaming access is when you are still recognised as a DPI user but you are working off the DPI network and not using Direct Access. 
  • This is useful if you are using a personal device or out in the field and without a DPI network connection.
  • To set up roaming access you need to register for a personal account on the database platform while you are on the DPI network.
  • Once you have created an account you can then use this logon on a personal device or when you're off the DPI network.  


Roaming instructions for each product:
 

 

 

 

 

While on the DPI network...
  1. Log in OR register for a Wiley account at https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com
  2. After logging in via the network, you will automatically be affiliated to the organisation while off network, for 60 days.
  3. The affiliation is renewed each time the user logs in from within the institution IP.

 




 

 


While on the DPI network...
    1. Log in OR register for a Scopus account at https://www.scopus.com/
    2. Your '@daf.qld.gov.au' email address will automatically be granted remote access.
       

 

 

 

 


While on the DPI network...
     1. Log in OR register for a SD account at https://www.sciencedirect.com/
     2.Your '@daf.qld.gov.au' email address will automatically be granted remote access.
   
 


 

    

 

While on the DPI network...
     1. Log in OR register for a Springer account at https://link.springer.com
     2. You will automatically be 'associated' with the DPI subscription and granted remote access when off the DPI network.
 








While on the DPI network...
     1. Log in OR register for an Oxford account at https://academic.oup.com
     2. Roaming will work automatically when you log in off-network using your personal logon.