In addition to purchased collections, RIS provides access to thousands of Open Access ebooks via Search@RIS.
These include books from:
How to find OA eBooks in Search@RIS:
1. Enter Topic
2. Refine results by selecting:
Open Access and eBook/Chapter
Search for eBooks
New eBooks
CABI eBook Collection
| Collection Description | 900+ eBooks covering applied life sciences from CAB International. Archive collection (2000-2016) contains 791 titles. Current Collection (2017-2022) contains 147 titles. |
| Platform | CABI eBooks |
| Platform | CABI eBooks |
| Working From Home | Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access/ Personal Device |
No. Cannot access subscription while off the DPI network . |
| Software Required | None required. |
| Device Compatibility | Any device with PDF Viewer |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Chapter (PDF only) | |
| Download Full eBook (PDF only) - click 'View eBook' link to download |
CSIRO eBook Collection
| Collection | 175 eBooks in a range of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, plant and animal sciences, chemistry, health and the environment. |
| Platform | CSIRO eBooks |
| Platform | CSIRO eBooks |
| Working From Home | Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access / Personal Device |
Not available off network. |
| Software Required | None Required |
| Device Compatibility | Laptop/Desktop ; iOS (iPad, iPhone) ; Android (phone, tablet) |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Full Book (PDF or EPUB) | |
| Download Chapters (PDF or EPUB) | |
| Do I need to create an account? | No |
Wiley eBook Collection
| Collection Description | 390 eBooks in four subject areas: agriculture, aquaculture & fisheries, plant science and veterinary science. |
| Platform | Wiley Online Library |
| Platform | Wiley Online Library |
| Working From Home | Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access / Personal Device |
Yes. Register or login using your Wiley account. |
| Software Required | None required. |
| Device Compatibility | Any device with PDF Viewer |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Chapter (PDF) | |
| Download Full Book (PDF) | |
| Do I need an account? | Only if you want to login off network |
Springer eBook Collection
| Collection Description |
61 eBooks - life sciences books including a number of DAF authored titles. Topics include: crop science, animal science, food science and pest management. 63 Open Access eBooks in Life Sciences |
| Platform | SpringerLink |
| Platform | SpringerLink |
| Work From Home Access |
ITP Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access/ Personal Device |
Yes. Create a personal Springer account while on the DPI network. You can then use your logon off-network or on a personal device. |
| Software Required | No |
| Device Compatibility | Can be used on any device |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Chapter as PDF | |
|
Download Full Book (PDF/EPUB) |
|
| Do I need to create an account? | No |
ScienceDirect eBook Collection
| Collection Description | 275 eBooks: topics include soil science, plant science, ecology, aquatic and marine science, animal science, food science, entomology. |
| Platform | ScienceDirect |
| Platform | ScienceDirect |
| Working From Home | Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access / Personal Device |
Yes. Register or login using your ScienceDirect account. |
| Software Required | None required. |
| Device Compatibility | Any device with PDF Viewer |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Chapter (PDF) | |
| Download Full Book (zip file of PDF chapters) | |
| Do I need an account? | Only if you are logging in off network |
ProQuest eBook Collection
| Collection Description | 200+ eBooks Life Sciences, Fisheries, Business & Management |
| Platform | Proquest eBook Central |
| Platform | Proquest eBook Central |
| Work From Home |
ITP Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access / Personal Device |
Yes. Create a user account. |
| Software Required | eBooks can be read online Download requires Adobe Digital Editions (available from ITP Software Centre) |
| Device Compatibility | Laptop/Desktop or Device |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Chapter (PDF) - up to 121 pages, does not expire | |
| Download Full Book (PDF) - Must Sign In. Download valid for 21 days. | |
| Do I need to create an account? | Yes, to download or access off network. Create a user account while visiting the DPI Proquest link: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/auth/lib/dpi/login.action? |
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
| Collection Description | 58 eBooks - Leadership and Management Collection. Topics include: emotional intelligence, conflict management, leadership skills, and coaching. 25 eBooks - Environment Collection. Topics include: Renewable energy, climate change, environmental policy, green cities, and more. |
| Platform | EBSCOhost |
| Platform | EBSCOhost |
| Work From Home Access |
ITP Direct Access |
| Off-Network Access/ Personal Device |
Yes. Sign in to access DPI content: Username: s6328376 / Password: EcoLibrary21! |
| Software Required | PDF's can be read online Download requires Adobe Digital Editions (available from ITP Software Centre) |
| Device Compatibility | PDF version for desktop EPUB version for mobile devices |
| Download Options | Read Online |
| Download Chapter - up to 100 pages can be downloaded, printed or emailed. | |
|
Download Full Book (PDF/EPUB) - Loan limit of 7 days. Additional instructions: |
|
| Do I need to create an account? | Yes. To download eBooks you will need to create a 'My EBSCOhost' account. |