EndNote

These Quick Guides have been prepared as a single printable document. Access the RIS Guide to EndNote 20 : tailored for DPI.

1. Select the File option on the menu bar
2. Select New... A dialogue box will open with My EndNote Library.enl as the name of the new library
3. Select a library save location. RIS recommends that you save your library in EndNote’s default file location on your hard drive. Do not save libraries to file servers or cloud storage as the libraries will corrupt and cease to work.
4. Type a name for your library in the File name box (e.g. your name)
5. Select Save and you will see a new library window

Your EndNote library consists of two elements:

• a file with the extension .enl (the library file) e.g. fallarmyworm.enl
• a folder with the extension .Data (containing files connected with the library, for example attached full text PDFs) e.g. fallarmyworm.data
• NB: there may also be a third file type with the extension .enlx e.g. fallarmyworm.enlx This is a compressed file that combines .enl and .data into a single file (see Compressing a library below).

Copy and move a library:

Keep the two elements .enl and .data together if copying or moving your Library.

You can move and copy Libraries in file Explorer using Copy > Paste. 

Compressing a library

Compressing a Library combines the .enl and the .data files into a single .enlx file. This can then be emailed to colleagues in the single file format.

Compress a library using File > Compress library then follow the prompts for your requirements.

Note: The Compressed Library option will not work for libraries larger than 4 GB and/or 65,535 files. Use any third party compression software such as WinZip instead.

Create a back-up

1. Select the File option on the menu bar and select Compressed Library (.enlx) ...
2. This will create an archive copy of your library in a single file with the extension .enlx. It combines the elements of .enl and .data into a single file that can be emailed.

Note: The Compressed Library option will not work for libraries larger than 4 GB and/or 65,535 files. Use any third party compression software such as WinZip instead.

Restore from a back-up

1. Select the File option in the menu bar
2. Select Open and then select the .enlx file

All elements of the library will be recreated - based on the version that was archived.

When you install EndNote for the first time, the default folder location is:

C:\Users\YOUR_NAME\Documents\EndNote

This is where your Libraries, Styles, Filters and Connections are saved. For ease of use it is recommended that you retain the default installation settings.

If you aren't sure what your default folder location is are you can review and modify it in EndNote via:

Edit > Preferences > Folder locations

EndNote Desktop - this is the software that you install on your laptop or PC. 

EndNote Online - this is the online version of EndNote and links to the desktop software. Use EndNote Online to create lists of references; sync to EndNote Desktop; and share references. If you wish to share your library in real time with colleagues, each party needs an EndNote Online account.  An account is free and can be set up by anyone. Set up an account and access it here.

Library – this is the file in which your references are stored.  It is a collection of references ; there is no limit to the number of references you can create in an EndNote library. It is recommended that the number not exceed 100,000 to maintain efficient performance managing the database.

Field – components of a reference, such as author, title, year, and journal title; at most, there can be 52 fields per reference Import filter – a file that tells EndNote how to import references from online databases and catalogues

Output style – a file that tells EndNote how to format citations; styles are available for individual journals or for general styles (Vancouver, APA, AMA, NLM, Chicago, etc.)

Reference – a bibliographic citation which usually includes author, title, source, abstract and/or related information

Reference type – the type of material of a citation; some of the reference types in EndNote are journal article, book, book section, conference proceedings, electronic source, etc.

Term list – a list of terms associated with a given field (like author or journal title) that assists with automated data entry.

The first change you'll notice in EN 20 is the new user interface. It's modern, easy and more intuitive. Other changes include:

• New Tab feature to open groups in tabs similar to a web browser experience
• Redesigned PDF viewer with annotation tools - write in your PDFs
• Improved interface with DPI subscriptions to allow you to Find Full Text using DPI credentials, and add the found files straight into EndNote
• A new "Library" main menu that now contains the functions you can perform in a library:
  • Sync (previously in Tools)
  • Simple search (previously in Tools)
  • Sort (previously in Tools)
  • Find Duplicates (previously in References)
  • Find and/or remove broken link attachments (previously in Tools)
  • Work with Term Lists (previously in Tools)
  • and  more
• A revised "Tool" main menu that now includes:
  • Output styles, including the Style Manager to modify styles (previously in Edit)
  • Import Filters (previously in Edit)
  • Connection Files  (previously in Edit)

Things you cannot do in EN 20:

• Hide unused fields in a reference record
• Change the layout of the panels.

You can however:

-- Increase or decrease the font size of the entire screen

-- Open two or more separate libraries in full screens

-- In one library, separate groups can be opened as tabs across the top of the screen (like a web browser)

File compatibility between versions:

* EndNote X9.3 and later libraries are not backward compatible with previous versions. To use EndNote X9.3 and later libraries (e.g. EN20) with an older version of EndNote without using Sync you must export and an import of an xml copy of your library as follows:

1. Export the EndNote X9.3 or EN20 library to a XML file (.xml) by changing the File Type during export
2. Open the library in EndNote X9.3 or later and make sure all references are showing.
3. Click on the file menu and select "Export".
4. Pick a name and location for the XML file, set the File Type to (.xml) click "Save".
5. This xml file can be emailed to a colleague with whom you wish to share references.
6. In the older version of EndNote, have a library open
7. Click on File > Import > File In the Import dialog, click “Choose” or “Browse” and select the export file.
8. Select "EndNote Generated XML" as the “Import Option”.
9. Change the “Duplicates:” option to your requirement.
10. Set the “Text Translation” to "No Translation" and then click on “Import”.