EndNote

Find Full text

EndNote has a Find Full Text (FFT) function that searches the web for full text documents and adds them to your citation records.

Update FFT Preferences

For best results you need to add the DPI OpenURL link to your preferences in EndNote.

1. In EndNote, go to Edit.
2. Select Preferences, and select Find Full Text
3. Check all the check-boxes

• Tip: If you are not working in the biomedical area, you can leave the PubMed LinkOut option unchecked to speed up the search process.

4. In the OpenURL Path box, copy and paste this link:

https://dpi.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61DOAAF_INST/61DOAAF_INST:DPI?

5. Click the OK button to save these changes

• Tip: you may also select the check box to automatically invoke FFT on newly imported references

1. Select the references where you wish to find the full text article.
2. Select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text or click on the Find Full Text icon in the toolbar.
3. References appear in groups under a Find Full Text group set. EndNote will now attempt to find the full text of your selected references.
4. If successful, a paper-clip icon will appear next to the reference, and you can see the PDF in the right pane. You can open the PDF to make notes etc.

Tips:

• To select multiple references, click on the first one then, holding down the Control key, select your other references.
• EndNote FFT can only search for 250 citations at a time

Edit a reference

1. In EndNote, select the reference you wish to edit
2. In the pane on the right, select Edit
3. Make the required changes
4. Select Save. (If you don't select Save but select another reference, it will ask if you wish to Save.)

Delete a reference from the library

1. Select a reference you wish to delete
2. Go to the References dropdown list
3. Select Move References to Trash
4. You can also drag and drop the reference into the Trash group.

In your EndNote library, your references can be arranged into topical Groups. These help you keep your library organised – like a physical library that has collections.

For example, you may wish to create Groups based on papers you are writing, projects you are working on, or clients you are working for.

Create a group

1. Select Groups on the top menu bar
2. Select Create Group from the drop-down menu. This will open a box in the Groups pane
3. Type a name for the group then click outside of the box

Create a smart group

Smart groups contain references that are automatically populated based on a search strategy you define, rather than by manual addition. References are automatically added to the smart group when they match the criteria you set.

1. Select Groups on the top menu bar
2. Select Create Smart Group from the drop-down menu.
3. This will open a box for you to set the groups parameters.
4. Type a name for the group then click Create.

Add a reference to a group

1. Select All References in the Groups pane
2. Highlight the selected reference in the library window
3. Select Groups on the top menu bar
4. Select Add References To from the drop-down menu, and then select the name of the group

Tip: Removing a reference from a custom group does not delete it from the EndNote library. It removes the reference from the group subset, but the reference still exists in the library. Deleting a reference from a library also deletes it from all groups in that library. The reference no longer exists.

In EndNote, you can either create many libraries each with different file names, or you can create one library and separate your projects using many groups.

Your approach comes down to personal preference, however there are advantages of using a single library with many groups:

• All your references are contained in the one location, making back up a simple one-time job
• A single library avoids systems issues when inserting references into Word documents
• Perhaps most importantly, a single library works best when you opt to use the syncing function.

Why sync? EndNote provides you with a cloud space to save an online copy of your library. This is a valuable function that enables you to access, use and share your library or a sub-group through a web browser.

However -- your EndNote Online account can only be synced with one library. If you try to sync additional libraries, they will be merged in EndNote Online. This can then sync with your desktop version and cause it to overwrite the existing library. Hence, using one library with multiple groups may be best.

We go into detailed instruction on how to sync your single EndNote Library here. 

Retain capitalisation of specific words

You can use the Change Case preferences to list the words that should not be modified when EndNote changes the case of titles or authors. This can be used for special acronyms, equations, proper nouns, or compound names that require consistent capitalisation.

1. From the Edit menu in EndNote, choose Preferences
2. Click on the Change Case on the left pane.
3. Enter the term (for eg. DPI or DNA) in the text box at the top of the dialog, and click Add button.
4. Save these settings. This will display these words as DPI and DNA  in every appearance in the document.

Toggle the case of words

Sometimes when you import a reference, the original record may have been in ALL CAPS and you need to change it to sentence case. 

1. Open the reference to edit
2. Highlight the text that requires the case changed
3. Press <Shift> <F3> until you are happy with the case
4. Click Save

You can improve poor quality or incomplete references (for example pre-print references or those imported from Google Scholar) by using the Find Reference Updates function. EndNote searches for a better quality record and prompts you to replace the existing reference.

1. Select the reference/s that you wish to check for updates
2. Select References
3. Select Find Reference Updates
4. If a more complete record is located, EndNote will indicate which fields have changed and asks you if you would like to replace the existing record.
5. If all selected references are up to date, EndNote will provide a message to this effect.